Home / Compare / Albany Law School vs Brooklyn Law School

Albany Law School vs Brooklyn Law School

Albany Law School · Albany, NY  |  Brooklyn Law School · New York City, NY

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in New York — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

37.5%
Albany Law School acceptance
44.0%
Brooklyn Law School acceptance
$82,188
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureAlbany Law SchoolBrooklyn Law SchoolDifference
Acceptance rate37.45%44.00%−6.5
Median LSAT158161−3
Median GPA3.543.59−0
Annual tuition$63,994$75,496−11,502
3-year total cost$258,234$340,422−82,188
Median grant / year$38,000$34,000+4,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size237414−177
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill94.9%100.0%−5.1
Bar pass (1st time)86.7%85.5%+1.2

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Brooklyn Law School's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureAlbany Law SchoolBrooklyn Law SchoolGap
First-year class size237414−177
3-year total cost$258,234$340,422−82,188in dollars
Annual tuition$63,994$75,496−11,502in dollars
Acceptance rate37.45%44.00%−6.5percentage points

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)Albany Law SchoolBrooklyn Law School
Annual tuition$63,994$75,496
3-year total cost$258,234$340,422
Median grant / year$38,000$34,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureAlbany Law SchoolBrooklyn Law School
First-time bar passage86.7%85.5%
Offer yield22.8%20.5%
Class fill94.9%100.0%
Students enrolled225414
First-year class size237414

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Albany Law SchoolBrooklyn Law School
Admissions dataAll Albany Law School admissions dataAll Brooklyn Law School admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Brooklyn Law School pairings, and other alternatives to Albany Law School.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Albany Law School vs Brooklyn Law School?

Albany Law School admitted 37.45% of applicants while Brooklyn Law School admitted 44.00%.

Which is cheaper, Albany Law School or Brooklyn Law School?

Over three years, Albany Law School costs $82,188 less. Albany Law School runs $258,234 and Brooklyn Law School runs $340,422, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Albany Law School or Brooklyn Law School?

Albany Law School reports a median grant of $38,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $34,000 at Brooklyn Law School. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Albany Law School and Brooklyn Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.