Home / Compare / Alabama vs Samford University

Alabama vs Samford University

The University of Alabama Law School · Tuscaloosa, AL  |  Samford University Law School · Birmingham, AL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Alabama — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

25.6%
Alabama acceptance
49.0%
Samford University acceptance
$90,183
3-year cost gap
11
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureAlabamaSamford UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate25.63%48.97%−23.3
Median LSAT167156+11
Median GPA3.973.63+0
Annual tuition$24,980$46,334−21,354
3-year total cost$145,497$235,680−90,183
Median grant / year$21,500$20,000+1,500
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size140170−30
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.9%98.8%−1.0
Bar pass (1st time)95.2%90.4%+4.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Samford University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureAlabamaSamford UniversityGap
Acceptance rate25.63%48.97%−23.3percentage points
Annual tuition$24,980$46,334−21,354in dollars
3-year total cost$145,497$235,680−90,183in dollars
First-year class size140170−30

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)AlabamaSamford University
Annual tuition$24,980$46,334
3-year total cost$145,497$235,680
Median grant / year$21,500$20,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureAlabamaSamford University
First-time bar passage95.2%90.4%
Offer yield30.6%37.1%
Class fill97.9%98.8%
Students enrolled137168
First-year class size140170

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

AlabamaSamford University
Admissions dataAll Alabama admissions dataAll Samford University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Samford University pairings, and other alternatives to Alabama.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Alabama vs Samford University?

Alabama admitted 25.63% of applicants while Samford University admitted 48.97%.

Which is cheaper, Alabama or Samford University?

Over three years, Alabama costs $90,183 less. Alabama runs $145,497 and Samford University runs $235,680, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Alabama or Samford University?

Alabama reports a median grant of $21,500 per year for full-time students, compared with $20,000 at Samford University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for The University of Alabama Law School and Samford University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.