Home / Compare / Akron vs Toledo
Akron vs Toledo
The University of Akron Law School · Akron, OH | The University of Toledo Law School · Toledo, OH
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Ohio — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | Akron | Toledo | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 58.53% | 52.52% | +6.0 |
| Median LSAT | 154 | 153 | +1 |
| Median GPA | 3.51 | 3.53 | −0 |
| Annual tuition | $22,359 | $26,446 | −4,087 |
| 3-year total cost | $114,597 | $155,328 | −40,731 |
| Median grant / year | $9,000 | $20,000 | −11,000 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 203 | 126 | +77 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 98.0% | 100.0% | −2.0 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 70.2% | 77.4% | −7.2 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Toledo's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | Akron | Toledo | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| First-year class size | 203 | 126 | +77 |
| Median grant / year | $9,000 | $20,000 | −11,000in dollars |
| 3-year total cost | $114,597 | $155,328 | −40,731in dollars |
| Annual tuition | $22,359 | $26,446 | −4,087in dollars |
Cost compared
Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.
| Component (per year) | Akron | Toledo |
|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition | $22,359 | $26,446 |
| 3-year total cost | $114,597 | $155,328 |
| Median grant / year | $9,000 | $20,000 |
| Net tuition after median grant | — | — |
Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | Akron | Toledo |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 70.2% | 77.4% |
| Offer yield | 44.6% | 32.7% |
| Class fill | 98.0% | 100.0% |
| Students enrolled | 199 | 126 |
| First-year class size | 203 | 126 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| Akron | Toledo | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All Akron admissions data | All Toledo admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other Toledo pairings, and other alternatives to Akron.
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at Akron vs Toledo?
Akron admitted 58.53% of applicants while Toledo admitted 52.52%.
Which is cheaper, Akron or Toledo?
Over three years, Akron costs $40,731 less. Akron runs $114,597 and Toledo runs $155,328, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.
Which school offers more financial aid, Akron or Toledo?
Akron reports a median grant of $9,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $20,000 at Toledo. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for The University of Akron Law School and The University of Toledo Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.