Home / Compare / Akron vs Cleveland State University

Akron vs Cleveland State University

The University of Akron Law School · Akron, OH  |  Cleveland State University Law School · Cleveland, OH

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Ohio — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

58.5%
Akron acceptance
34.5%
Cleveland State University acceptance
$45,711
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureAkronCleveland State UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate58.53%34.45%+24.1
Median LSAT154155−1
Median GPA3.513.5+0
Annual tuition$22,359$29,766−7,407
3-year total cost$114,597$160,308−45,711
Median grant / year$9,000$11,000−2,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size203195+8
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.0%100.0%−2.0
Bar pass (1st time)70.2%72.7%−2.5

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Cleveland State University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureAkronCleveland State UniversityGap
Acceptance rate58.53%34.45%+24.1percentage points
3-year total cost$114,597$160,308−45,711in dollars
Annual tuition$22,359$29,766−7,407in dollars
Median grant / year$9,000$11,000−2,000in dollars

Cost compared

Both schools report tuition, mandatory fees and living costs, so a full three-year figure can be computed for each. This is the comparison that tuition-only rankings cannot make.

Component (per year)AkronCleveland State University
Annual tuition$22,359$29,766
3-year total cost$114,597$160,308
Median grant / year$9,000$11,000
Net tuition after median grant——

Net tuition subtracts the median grant from annual tuition. It is an optimistic floor: the median covers only students who received aid, and it assumes the same award holds for all three years. See the full cost ranking for every school.

Outcomes compared

MeasureAkronCleveland State University
First-time bar passage70.2%72.7%
Offer yield44.6%32.7%
Class fill98.0%100.0%
Students enrolled199195
First-year class size203195

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

AkronCleveland State University
Admissions dataAll Akron admissions dataAll Cleveland State University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Cleveland State University pairings, and other alternatives to Akron.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Akron vs Cleveland State University?

Akron admitted 58.53% of applicants while Cleveland State University admitted 34.45%.

Which is cheaper, Akron or Cleveland State University?

Over three years, Akron costs $45,711 less. Akron runs $114,597 and Cleveland State University runs $160,308, including tuition, mandatory fees and disclosed living costs.

Which school offers more financial aid, Akron or Cleveland State University?

Akron reports a median grant of $9,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $11,000 at Cleveland State University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for The University of Akron Law School and Cleveland State University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.