The Real Cost of Law School: Tuition Is Not Half the Bill
Stanford's housing alone runs $49,719 a year — more than many schools charge for everything. Across 130 schools, room and board ranges from $11,550 to $49,719.
Which data year this uses
Living-cost figures are the 2025–26 academic year as reported in the 2025 ABA Standard 509 disclosures. Housing and board costs are set annually, so if you are budgeting for fall 2027 entry, expect these numbers to be revised by the time you enroll — the point of the analysis below, that tuition is only half the bill, does not change.
Almost every law school cost discussion stops at tuition. That is a mistake, because tuition is frequently the smaller half. The ABA's 509 disclosures include on-campus and off-campus living costs, and those figures routinely rival or exceed the tuition line — and they vary by a factor of four across schools, which is a wider spread than tuition itself.
Using the 130 schools that report both tuition and on-campus housing, the picture is clearer than any tuition-only ranking can show.
What is included here
On-campus living costs as reported by each school for the 2025–26 academic year. Where a school reports different off-campus figures, both appear in the tables below. Books, transportation, and personal expenses are reported separately by schools and are not part of these figures, so real budgets run higher than the totals shown.
The ten most expensive schools, all-in
Adding tuition and on-campus housing changes the order of schools. Several institutions with lower tuition than Harvard rank above it once housing is counted.
| School | Tuition | On-campus housing | Total | Off-campus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stanford University | $77,454 | $49,719 | $127,173 | $51,102 |
| New York University | $83,952 | $36,094 | $120,046 | $36,094 |
| Chicago, The University of | $83,316 | $35,418 | $118,734 | $35,418 |
| Cornell University | $84,722 | $32,952 | $117,674 | $32,952 |
| Georgetown University | $83,576 | $33,905 | $117,481 | $33,905 |
| Columbia University | $85,368 | $31,554 | $116,922 | $31,554 |
| Harvard University | $77,100 | $38,690 | $115,790 | $38,690 |
| Southern California, University of | $84,034 | $31,686 | $115,720 | $32,298 |
| Fordham University | $78,078 | $37,354 | $115,432 | $37,354 |
| Brooklyn Law School | $75,496 | $36,528 | $112,024 | $36,528 |
ABA Standard 509, 2025 cycle. Housing figures are one academic year of room and board as reported by the school.
Stanford costs more than a year at Harvard
Stanford's $77,454 tuition is $354 above Harvard's. Its housing cost is $49,719 against Harvard's $38,690 — a difference of $11,029. Combined, Stanford's tuition-plus-housing figure is $11,383 higher. On tuition alone the two schools look similar; on the actual bill they are not.
Stanford is also the most expensive school in the dataset on housing alone. Its $49,719 is more than the entire tuition at many schools, including every public flagship examined in our low-cost analysis.
How much housing costs, and where
Across the 130 schools reporting both figures, on-campus housing runs from $11,550 to $49,719 with a median of $26,886. That spread is proportionally wider than tuition.
| Measure | Tuition | On-campus housing |
|---|---|---|
| Lowest reported | $11,338 | $11,550 |
| Median | $50,320 | $26,886 |
| Highest reported | $85,368 | $49,719 |
| Ratio, highest to lowest | 7.5× | 4.3× |
| Schools reporting | 164 of 196 | 156 of 196 |
ABA Standard 509, 2025 cycle. Tuition median is computed across schools reporting tuition; housing median across schools reporting both housing and tuition.
Two things stand out. Housing is the smaller cost at the median — $26,886 against $50,320 in tuition — so a tuition-focused comparison is not wrong so much as incomplete. And housing varies by location in a way tuition does not: a school in an expensive metropolitan area can post mid-range tuition and still have the highest living costs in the country.
The schools that look cheap on tuition alone
Rank by tuition and several schools with expensive housing sit mid-list. A school with $60,000 tuition and $34,000 housing costs $94,000 a year; one with $70,000 tuition and $18,000 housing costs $88,000. The first school has the higher tuition and the lower total.
Why schools report different figures
- On-campus estimates vary by what is bundled
Some schools include meals in the housing figure and some quote room only, which is not disclosed consistently. Cross-school housing comparisons therefore carry a margin of error that tuition comparisons do not.
- Off-campus figures are modelled, not surveyed
All 196 schools report an off-campus estimate, but these reflect what students historically paid rather than current market rents. In cities where rents moved quickly, these figures can lag badly. Stanford's $51,102 off-campus estimate sits close to its on-campus figure, which is unusual.
- Three years, not one
Tuition figures are annual and typically rise each year. Multiplying one year by three gives a rough total, but a 3 percent annual increase makes the third year materially different from the first. Our scholarship-adjusted cost ranking accounts for the grant side of this calculation.
- Books, transport, and personal costs sit outside all of this
ABA disclosures report books and supplies, transportation, and personal expenses separately. For most schools these add $15,000 to $25,000 a year on top of tuition and housing — which means a $47,000 tuition-plus-housing school can carry a six-figure total budget.
What this means for choosing
Housing is a fixed cost with no negotiation value, and the difference between the cheapest and most expensive schools on this line is more than $38,000 a year. That is worth more attention than most applicants give it.
- Compare totals, not tuition. Two schools with tuition within $5,000 of each other can differ by $15,000 once housing is included.
- Check whether housing is bundled with meals where the two schools you are comparing differ on that. It is not disclosed uniformly.
- Budget for three years of increases, not three years of the current figure.
- Add the costs that are not in either number. Our tools help with score planning, but the budget itself has to come from each school's own cost of attendance page.
Each school's page here carries its tuition, housing, and grant figures together, so the comparison can be made directly. If cost is the deciding factor, our acceptance-versus-tuition analysis shows where selectivity and price actually overlap.
Questions we get asked
What is the most expensive law school in the United States?
On tuition plus on-campus housing, Stanford University at $127,173 for the 2025–26 year — $77,454 tuition and $49,719 housing. Columbia reports the highest tuition at $85,368 but a lower total of $116,922 because its housing figure is $31,554. On tuition alone the answer is Columbia; on the actual bill it is Stanford.
How much should I budget for living costs in law school?
The median on-campus figure across reporting schools is $26,886 a year, with a range from $11,550 to $49,719. Off-campus estimates run slightly higher at most schools. Those figures generally exclude books, transportation, and personal expenses, which typically add another $15,000 to $25,000 annually.
Do law schools update their cost of attendance figures every year?
Yes. The ABA requires annual disclosure under Standard 509, and each cycle's figures appear in the following December's release. Schools also update their own cost of attendance pages more frequently. The figures here are from the 2025 reporting cycle, published in December 2025.
Is it cheaper to live off campus?
It varies. Most schools report off-campus estimates close to or slightly above their on-campus figures, but the estimates are modelled from historical student reports rather than surveyed, so they can lag current rents. Stanford is an exception where the off-campus figure sits above on-campus.
How much does the LSAT cost, and can I take it more than once?
Registration is $253 for the 2026–2027 testing year and includes LSAT Argumentative Writing. LSAC limits sittings to five within the current reportable score period and seven over a lifetime, with no per-year cap; cancelled scores count toward both limits. Need-based fee waivers cover registration for eligible applicants, and a Tier 1 waiver can cover up to two LSATs within the waiver period.
All figures come from the ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures for the 2025 reporting cycle and describe the 2025–26 academic year. Tuition and living costs are self-reported by each institution; housing figures are not bundled consistently across schools, and off-campus estimates reflect modelled rather than surveyed costs. Coverage is incomplete — 156 of 196 schools report on-campus housing and 130 report both housing and tuition — so schools missing from these tables are not necessarily cheaper. Confirm costs on each school's own cost of attendance page. This article is educational and is not financial advice.
Sources
- ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle — tuition, on-campus and off-campus living costs for 196 ABA-approved law schools
Figures reflect the most recent published data available as of October 27, 2026. Always confirm current policy on lsat.lsac.org.