Home / Compare / Seattle University vs Washington

Seattle University vs Washington

Seattle University Law School · Seattle, WA  |  University of Washington Law School · Seattle, WA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Seattle — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

38.9%
Seattle University acceptance
19.6%
Washington acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
6
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureSeattle UniversityWashingtonDifference
Acceptance rate38.93%19.61%+19.3
Median LSAT159165−6
Median GPA3.63.76−0
Annual tuition$2,061/credit$45,927—
3-year total costnot reported$228,465—
Median grant / year$30,000$14,000+16,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size209207+2
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%97.6%+2.4
Bar pass (1st time)79.5%92.6%−13.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Washington's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureSeattle UniversityWashingtonGap
Median grant / year$30,000$14,000+16,000in dollars
Acceptance rate38.93%19.61%+19.3percentage points
Bar pass (1st time)79.5%92.6%−13.1
First-year class size209207+2

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureSeattle UniversityWashington
First-time bar passage79.5%92.6%
Offer yield23.3%30.2%
Class fill100.0%97.6%
Students enrolled209202
First-year class size209207

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Seattle UniversityWashington
Admissions dataAll Seattle University admissions dataAll Washington admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Washington pairings, and other alternatives to Seattle University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Seattle University vs Washington?

Seattle University admitted 38.93% of applicants while Washington admitted 19.61%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Seattle University or Washington?

Seattle University reports a median grant of $30,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $14,000 at Washington. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Seattle University Law School and University of Washington Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.