Home / Compare / Santa Clara University vs Southwestern Law School
Santa Clara University vs Southwestern Law School
Santa Clara University Law School · Santa Clara, CA | Southwestern Law School · Los Angeles, CA
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in California — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | Santa Clara University | Southwestern Law School | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 52.58% | 36.47% | +16.1 |
| Median LSAT | 159 | 157 | +2 |
| Median GPA | 3.5 | 3.51 | −0 |
| Annual tuition | $2,260/credit | $63,160 | — |
| 3-year total cost | not reported | $298,719 | — |
| Median grant / year | $40,000 | $29,166 | +10,834 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 256 | 459 | −203 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 98.8% | 98.9% | −0.1 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 82.0% | 72.1% | +9.9 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Southwestern Law School's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | Santa Clara University | Southwestern Law School | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| First-year class size | 256 | 459 | −203 |
| Acceptance rate | 52.58% | 36.47% | +16.1percentage points |
| Median grant / year | $40,000 | $29,166 | +10,834in dollars |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 82.0% | 72.1% | +9.9 |
Cost compared
A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | Santa Clara University | Southwestern Law School |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 82.0% | 72.1% |
| Offer yield | 18.7% | 34.7% |
| Class fill | 98.8% | 98.9% |
| Students enrolled | 253 | 454 |
| First-year class size | 256 | 459 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| Santa Clara University | Southwestern Law School | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All Santa Clara University admissions data | All Southwestern Law School admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other Southwestern Law School pairings, and other alternatives to Santa Clara University.
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at Santa Clara University vs Southwestern Law School?
Santa Clara University admitted 52.58% of applicants while Southwestern Law School admitted 36.47%.
Which school offers more financial aid, Santa Clara University or Southwestern Law School?
Santa Clara University reports a median grant of $40,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $29,166 at Southwestern Law School. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Santa Clara University Law School and Southwestern Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.