Home / Compare / North Texas at Dallas vs Southern Methodist University

North Texas at Dallas vs Southern Methodist University

University of North Texas at Dallas Law School · Dallas, TX  |  Southern Methodist University Law School · Dallas, TX

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Dallas — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

24.2%
North Texas at Dallas acceptance
24.6%
Southern Methodist University acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
14
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureNorth Texas at DallasSouthern Methodist UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate24.22%24.59%−0.4
Median LSAT153167−14
Median GPA3.413.81−0
Annual tuition$562/credit$60,844—
3-year total costnot reported$276,162—
Median grant / year$5,000$26,000−21,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size130254−124
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.7%100.0%−2.3
Bar pass (1st time)79.7%97.8%−18.1

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Southern Methodist University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureNorth Texas at DallasSouthern Methodist UniversityGap
Median grant / year$5,000$26,000−21,000in dollars
First-year class size130254−124
Bar pass (1st time)79.7%97.8%−18.1
Acceptance rate24.22%24.59%−0.4percentage points

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureNorth Texas at DallasSouthern Methodist University
First-time bar passage79.7%97.8%
Offer yield27.9%34.0%
Class fill97.7%100.0%
Students enrolled127254
First-year class size130254

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

North Texas at DallasSouthern Methodist University
Admissions dataAll North Texas at Dallas admissions dataAll Southern Methodist University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Southern Methodist University pairings, and other alternatives to North Texas at Dallas.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at North Texas at Dallas vs Southern Methodist University?

North Texas at Dallas admitted 24.22% of applicants while Southern Methodist University admitted 24.59%.

Which school offers more financial aid, North Texas at Dallas or Southern Methodist University?

North Texas at Dallas reports a median grant of $5,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $26,000 at Southern Methodist University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of North Texas at Dallas Law School and Southern Methodist University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.