Home / Compare / Kansas vs Washburn University

Kansas vs Washburn University

The University of Kansas Law School · Lawrence, KS  |  Washburn University Law School · Topeka, KS

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Kansas — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

39.1%
Kansas acceptance
46.5%
Washburn University acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
7
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureKansasWashburn UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate39.08%46.45%−7.4
Median LSAT162155+7
Median GPA3.853.68+0
Annual tuition$857/credit$932/credit—
3-year total costnot reportednot reported—
Median grant / year$15,000$15,000identical
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size122137−15
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill94.3%99.3%−5.0
Bar pass (1st time)94.2%73.9%+20.3

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Washburn University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureKansasWashburn UniversityGap
Bar pass (1st time)94.2%73.9%+20.3
Acceptance rate39.08%46.45%−7.4percentage points
First-year class size122137−15

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureKansasWashburn University
First-time bar passage94.2%73.9%
Offer yield25.1%53.3%
Class fill94.3%99.3%
Students enrolled115136
First-year class size122137

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

KansasWashburn University
Admissions dataAll Kansas admissions dataAll Washburn University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Washburn University pairings, and other alternatives to Kansas.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Kansas vs Washburn University?

Kansas admitted 39.08% of applicants while Washburn University admitted 46.45%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Kansas or Washburn University?

Kansas reports a median grant of $15,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $15,000 at Washburn University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for The University of Kansas Law School and Washburn University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.