Home / Compare / Illinois-Chicago vs Northern Illinois University

Illinois-Chicago vs Northern Illinois University

University of Illinois-Chicago Law School · Chicago, IL  |  Northern Illinois University Law School · DeKalb, IL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Illinois — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

52.6%
Illinois-Chicago acceptance
44.3%
Northern Illinois University acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureIllinois-ChicagoNorthern Illinois UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate52.57%44.27%+8.3
Median LSAT153150+3
Median GPA3.43.41−0
Annual tuition$1,248/credit$23,667—
3-year total costnot reported$140,427—
Median grant / year$23,250$8,274+14,976
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size379134+245
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.4%97.8%−0.4
Bar pass (1st time)68.8%61.9%+6.9

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Northern Illinois University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureIllinois-ChicagoNorthern Illinois UniversityGap
First-year class size379134+245
Median grant / year$23,250$8,274+14,976in dollars
Acceptance rate52.57%44.27%+8.3percentage points
Bar pass (1st time)68.8%61.9%+6.9

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureIllinois-ChicagoNorthern Illinois University
First-time bar passage68.8%61.9%
Offer yield28.2%31.1%
Class fill97.4%97.8%
Students enrolled369131
First-year class size379134

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Illinois-ChicagoNorthern Illinois University
Admissions dataAll Illinois-Chicago admissions dataAll Northern Illinois University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Northern Illinois University pairings, and other alternatives to Illinois-Chicago.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Illinois-Chicago vs Northern Illinois University?

Illinois-Chicago admitted 52.57% of applicants while Northern Illinois University admitted 44.27%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Illinois-Chicago or Northern Illinois University?

Illinois-Chicago reports a median grant of $23,250 per year for full-time students, compared with $8,274 at Northern Illinois University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Illinois-Chicago Law School and Northern Illinois University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.