Home / Compare / Florida vs Florida State University

Florida vs Florida State University

University of Florida Law School · Gainesville, FL  |  Florida State University Law School · Tallahassee, FL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Florida — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

16.5%
Florida acceptance
16.0%
Florida State University acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
3
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureFloridaFlorida State UniversityDifference
Acceptance rate16.52%15.97%+0.5
Median LSAT169166+3
Median GPA3.913.93−0
Annual tuition$19,139$688/credit—
3-year total cost$132,240not reported—
Median grant / year$19,000$15,464+3,536
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size229153+76
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.6%100.0%−0.4
Bar pass (1st time)90.2%88.8%+1.4

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Florida State University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureFloridaFlorida State UniversityGap
First-year class size229153+76
Median grant / year$19,000$15,464+3,536in dollars
Acceptance rate16.52%15.97%+0.5percentage points
Bar pass (1st time)90.2%88.8%+1.4

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureFloridaFlorida State University
First-time bar passage90.2%88.8%
Offer yield35.5%35.3%
Class fill99.6%100.0%
Students enrolled228153
First-year class size229153

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

FloridaFlorida State University
Admissions dataAll Florida admissions dataAll Florida State University admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Florida State University pairings, and other alternatives to Florida.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Florida vs Florida State University?

Florida admitted 16.52% of applicants while Florida State University admitted 15.97%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Florida or Florida State University?

Florida reports a median grant of $19,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $15,464 at Florida State University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Florida Law School and Florida State University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.