Home / Compare / Florida International University vs Stetson University
Florida International University vs Stetson University
Florida International University Law School · Miami, FL | Stetson University Law School · Tampa, FL
This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Florida — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.
Side by side
All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.
| Measure | Florida International University | Stetson University | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acceptance rate | 18.77% | 36.44% | −17.7 |
| Median LSAT | 161 | 159 | +2 |
| Median GPA | 3.8 | 3.63 | +0 |
| Annual tuition | $691/credit | $56,521 | — |
| 3-year total cost | not reported | $253,293 | — |
| Median grant / year | $10,365 | $25,000 | −14,635 |
| Net tuition after grant | not reported | not reported | — |
| First-year class size | 175 | 336 | −161 |
| Offer yield | not reported | not reported | — |
| Class fill | 100.0% | 99.1% | +0.9 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 85.9% | 84.9% | +1.0 |
Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.
Where the two differ most
Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Stetson University's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.
| Measure | Florida International University | Stetson University | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median grant / year | $10,365 | $25,000 | −14,635in dollars |
| Acceptance rate | 18.77% | 36.44% | −17.7percentage points |
| First-year class size | 175 | 336 | −161 |
| Bar pass (1st time) | 85.9% | 84.9% | +1.0 |
Cost compared
A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.
Outcomes compared
| Measure | Florida International University | Stetson University |
|---|---|---|
| First-time bar passage | 85.9% | 84.9% |
| Offer yield | 30.1% | 32.7% |
| Class fill | 100.0% | 99.1% |
| Students enrolled | 175 | 333 |
| First-year class size | 175 | 336 |
The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.
Choosing between them
- There is no better school here, only a different one. These figures describe cohort averages. Where your own profile falls relative to a school's admitted range matters more than any published median.
- Cost is a family question, not a ranking. The three-year figure covers tuition, fees and published living costs. It does not include books, a laptop, travel home, or the income lost to three years of not working.
- Grant figures are history, not offers. Both medians describe past cohorts. Your award depends on your circumstances, the school's policy and its aid budget that year.
- Bar passage is heavily shaped by selectivity. A school that admits broadly and passes fewer of its own admittees is not necessarily providing a weaker education; the comparison is confounded by who each school chooses.
Full details on each school
| Florida International University | Stetson University | |
|---|---|---|
| Admissions data | All Florida International University admissions data | All Stetson University admissions data |
| Admissions funnel | Funnel & yield | Funnel & yield |
| Financial aid | Grants & aid bands | Grants & aid bands |
| Cost | Cost of attendance | Cost of attendance |
Other comparisons
Other Stetson University pairings, and other alternatives to Florida International University.
- No further pairings available for these two schools.
Common questions
What is the acceptance rate at Florida International University vs Stetson University?
Florida International University admitted 18.77% of applicants while Stetson University admitted 36.44%.
Which school offers more financial aid, Florida International University or Stetson University?
Florida International University reports a median grant of $10,365 per year for full-time students, compared with $25,000 at Stetson University. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.
Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Florida International University Law School and Stetson University Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.