Home / Compare / Duquesne University vs Widener University Commonwealth Law School

Duquesne University vs Widener University Commonwealth Law School

Duquesne University Law School · Pittsburgh, PA  |  Widener University Commonwealth Law School · Harrisburg, PA

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match in Pennsylvania — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

This pairing exists because the school had no comparison page under the geographic rules. Both schools are in the same state at a similar selectivity level, which is the situation where applicants actually hesitate between them.

43.2%
Duquesne University acceptance
60.4%
Widener University Commonwealth Law School acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
7
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureDuquesne UniversityWidener University Commonwealth Law SchoolDifference
Acceptance rate43.23%60.40%−17.2
Median LSAT157150+7
Median GPA3.623.33+0
Annual tuition$58,898$1,875/credit—
3-year total cost$253,308not reported—
Median grant / year$30,000$25,000+5,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size186159+27
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill98.4%97.5%+0.9
Bar pass (1st time)89.7%68.9%+20.7

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Widener University Commonwealth Law School's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureDuquesne UniversityWidener University Commonwealth Law SchoolGap
Bar pass (1st time)89.7%68.9%+20.7
Acceptance rate43.23%60.40%−17.2percentage points
Median grant / year$30,000$25,000+5,000in dollars
First-year class size186159+27

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureDuquesne UniversityWidener University Commonwealth Law School
First-time bar passage89.7%68.9%
Offer yield29.6%28.2%
Class fill98.4%97.5%
Students enrolled183155
First-year class size186159

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Duquesne UniversityWidener University Commonwealth Law School
Admissions dataAll Duquesne University admissions dataAll Widener University Commonwealth Law School admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Widener University Commonwealth Law School pairings, and other alternatives to Duquesne University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Duquesne University vs Widener University Commonwealth Law School?

Duquesne University admitted 43.23% of applicants while Widener University Commonwealth Law School admitted 60.40%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Duquesne University or Widener University Commonwealth Law School?

Duquesne University reports a median grant of $30,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $25,000 at Widener University Commonwealth Law School. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Duquesne University Law School and Widener University Commonwealth Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.