Home / Compare / DePaul University vs Illinois-Chicago

DePaul University vs Illinois-Chicago

DePaul University Law School · Chicago, IL  |  University of Illinois-Chicago Law School · Chicago, IL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Chicago — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

34.8%
DePaul University acceptance
52.6%
Illinois-Chicago acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
5
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureDePaul UniversityIllinois-ChicagoDifference
Acceptance rate34.81%52.57%−17.8
Median LSAT158153+5
Median GPA3.613.4+0
Annual tuition$55,328$1,248/credit—
3-year total cost$254,214not reported—
Median grant / year$34,950$23,250+11,700
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size186379−193
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.5%97.4%+2.1
Bar pass (1st time)83.8%68.8%+15.0

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Illinois-Chicago's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureDePaul UniversityIllinois-ChicagoGap
First-year class size186379−193
Median grant / year$34,950$23,250+11,700in dollars
Acceptance rate34.81%52.57%−17.8percentage points
Bar pass (1st time)83.8%68.8%+15.0

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureDePaul UniversityIllinois-Chicago
First-time bar passage83.8%68.8%
Offer yield20.1%28.2%
Class fill99.5%97.4%
Students enrolled185369
First-year class size186379

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

DePaul UniversityIllinois-Chicago
Admissions dataAll DePaul University admissions dataAll Illinois-Chicago admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Illinois-Chicago pairings, and other alternatives to DePaul University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at DePaul University vs Illinois-Chicago?

DePaul University admitted 34.81% of applicants while Illinois-Chicago admitted 52.57%.

Which school offers more financial aid, DePaul University or Illinois-Chicago?

DePaul University reports a median grant of $34,950 per year for full-time students, compared with $23,250 at Illinois-Chicago. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for DePaul University Law School and University of Illinois-Chicago Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.