Home / Compare / Cleveland State University vs Dayton

Cleveland State University vs Dayton

Cleveland State University Law School · Cleveland, OH  |  University of Dayton Law School · Dayton, OH

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Ohio — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

34.5%
Cleveland State University acceptance
30.7%
Dayton acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCleveland State UniversityDaytonDifference
Acceptance rate34.45%30.66%+3.8
Median LSAT155157−2
Median GPA3.53.6−0
Annual tuition$29,766$1,380/credit—
3-year total cost$160,308not reported—
Median grant / year$11,000$33,000−22,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size195168+27
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%99.4%+0.6
Bar pass (1st time)72.7%87.5%−14.8

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Dayton's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCleveland State UniversityDaytonGap
Median grant / year$11,000$33,000−22,000in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)72.7%87.5%−14.8
First-year class size195168+27
Acceptance rate34.45%30.66%+3.8percentage points

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCleveland State UniversityDayton
First-time bar passage72.7%87.5%
Offer yield32.7%33.8%
Class fill100.0%99.4%
Students enrolled195167
First-year class size195168

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Cleveland State UniversityDayton
Admissions dataAll Cleveland State University admissions dataAll Dayton admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Dayton pairings, and other alternatives to Cleveland State University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Cleveland State University vs Dayton?

Cleveland State University admitted 34.45% of applicants while Dayton admitted 30.66%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Cleveland State University or Dayton?

Cleveland State University reports a median grant of $11,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $33,000 at Dayton. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Cleveland State University Law School and University of Dayton Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.