Home / Compare / Cincinnati vs Dayton

Cincinnati vs Dayton

University of Cincinnati Law School · Cincinnati, OH  |  University of Dayton Law School · Dayton, OH

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Ohio — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

32.7%
Cincinnati acceptance
30.7%
Dayton acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
2
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCincinnatiDaytonDifference
Acceptance rate32.74%30.66%+2.1
Median LSAT159157+2
Median GPA3.83.6+0
Annual tuition$24,010$1,380/credit—
3-year total cost$152,298not reported—
Median grant / year$19,000$33,000−14,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size139168−29
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill97.1%99.4%−2.3
Bar pass (1st time)85.1%87.5%−2.4

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Dayton's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCincinnatiDaytonGap
Median grant / year$19,000$33,000−14,000in dollars
First-year class size139168−29
Acceptance rate32.74%30.66%+2.1percentage points
Bar pass (1st time)85.1%87.5%−2.4

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCincinnatiDayton
First-time bar passage85.1%87.5%
Offer yield30.5%33.8%
Class fill97.1%99.4%
Students enrolled135167
First-year class size139168

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

CincinnatiDayton
Admissions dataAll Cincinnati admissions dataAll Dayton admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Dayton pairings, and other alternatives to Cincinnati.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Cincinnati vs Dayton?

Cincinnati admitted 32.74% of applicants while Dayton admitted 30.66%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Cincinnati or Dayton?

Cincinnati reports a median grant of $19,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $33,000 at Dayton. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for University of Cincinnati Law School and University of Dayton Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.