Home / Compare / Chicago vs Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)

Chicago vs Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)

The University of Chicago Law School · Chicago, IL  |  Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) · Chicago, IL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city in Chicago — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

9.7%
Chicago acceptance
38.6%
Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
13
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureChicagoChicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)Difference
Acceptance rate9.74%38.61%−28.9
Median LSAT174161+13
Median GPA3.973.72+0
Annual tuition$83,316$1,830/credit—
3-year total cost$360,972not reported—
Median grant / year$15,000$35,000−20,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size203245−42
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill94.1%99.6%−5.5
Bar pass (1st time)96.7%79.7%+17.0

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)'s figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureChicagoChicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)Gap
Acceptance rate9.74%38.61%−28.9percentage points
Median grant / year$15,000$35,000−20,000in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)96.7%79.7%+17.0
First-year class size203245−42

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureChicagoChicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)
First-time bar passage96.7%79.7%
Offer yield29.8%28.6%
Class fill94.1%99.6%
Students enrolled191244
First-year class size203245

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

ChicagoChicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)
Admissions dataAll Chicago admissions dataAll Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) pairings, and other alternatives to Chicago.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Chicago vs Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)?

Chicago admitted 9.74% of applicants while Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) admitted 38.61%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Chicago or Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)?

Chicago reports a median grant of $15,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $35,000 at Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT). Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for The University of Chicago Law School and Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT). Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.