Home / Compare / Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) vs Loyola University-Chicago

Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) vs Loyola University-Chicago

Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) · Chicago, IL  |  Loyola University-Chicago Law School · Chicago, IL

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same city · same state, similar selectivity in Chicago — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

38.6%
Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) acceptance
28.2%
Loyola University-Chicago acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureChicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)Loyola University-ChicagoDifference
Acceptance rate38.61%28.18%+10.4
Median LSAT161161identical
Median GPA3.723.7+0
Annual tuition$1,830/credit$58,670—
3-year total costnot reported$276,972—
Median grant / year$35,000$30,000+5,000
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size245296−51
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill99.6%98.3%+1.3
Bar pass (1st time)79.7%85.7%−6.0

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Loyola University-Chicago's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureChicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)Loyola University-ChicagoGap
Acceptance rate38.61%28.18%+10.4percentage points
First-year class size245296−51
Median grant / year$35,000$30,000+5,000in dollars
Bar pass (1st time)79.7%85.7%−6.0

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureChicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)Loyola University-Chicago
First-time bar passage79.7%85.7%
Offer yield28.6%24.3%
Class fill99.6%98.3%
Students enrolled244291
First-year class size245296

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT)Loyola University-Chicago
Admissions dataAll Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) admissions dataAll Loyola University-Chicago admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Loyola University-Chicago pairings, and other alternatives to Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT).

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) vs Loyola University-Chicago?

Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) admitted 38.61% of applicants while Loyola University-Chicago admitted 28.18%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) or Loyola University-Chicago?

Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) reports a median grant of $35,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $30,000 at Loyola University-Chicago. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Chicago-Kent College of Law (IIT) and Loyola University-Chicago Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.