Home / Compare / Capital University Law School vs North Dakota

Capital University Law School vs North Dakota

Capital University Law School · Columbus, OH  |  University of North Dakota Law School · Grand Forks, ND

This pairing is listed because these two schools are closest selectivity match — see the note below for what this pairing does and does not mean.

One of these schools is the only law school in its state, so there is no local alternative to compare it against. This pairing matches the closest selectivity level found nationwide. The two are not practical alternatives for most applicants — the comparison is here so that every school on this site can be compared with something.

65.9%
Capital University Law School acceptance
63.1%
North Dakota acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
0
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureCapital University Law SchoolNorth DakotaDifference
Acceptance rate65.90%63.09%+2.8
Median LSAT151151identical
Median GPA3.443.48−0
Annual tuition$45,066$591/credit—
3-year total cost$199,704not reported—
Median grant / year$21,000$3,875+17,125
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size18097+83
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill96.7%100.0%−3.3
Bar pass (1st time)73.7%72.3%+1.4

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to North Dakota's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureCapital University Law SchoolNorth DakotaGap
Median grant / year$21,000$3,875+17,125in dollars
First-year class size18097+83
Acceptance rate65.90%63.09%+2.8percentage points
Bar pass (1st time)73.7%72.3%+1.4

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureCapital University Law SchoolNorth Dakota
First-time bar passage73.7%72.3%
Offer yield30.2%38.3%
Class fill96.7%100.0%
Students enrolled17497
First-year class size18097

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Capital University Law SchoolNorth Dakota
Admissions dataAll Capital University Law School admissions dataAll North Dakota admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other North Dakota pairings, and other alternatives to Capital University Law School.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Capital University Law School vs North Dakota?

Capital University Law School admitted 65.90% of applicants while North Dakota admitted 63.09%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Capital University Law School or North Dakota?

Capital University Law School reports a median grant of $21,000 per year for full-time students, compared with $3,875 at North Dakota. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Capital University Law School and University of North Dakota Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.