Home / Compare / Baylor University vs Houston

Baylor University vs Houston

Baylor University Law School · Waco, TX  |  University of Houston Law School · Houston, TX

This pairing is listed because these two schools are same state, similar selectivity in Texas — the circumstances in which one school is a realistic alternative to the other.

18.9%
Baylor University acceptance
23.0%
Houston acceptance
—
3-year cost gap
1
Median LSAT gap

Side by side

All figures from the 2025 ABA 509 reporting cycle. Bold marks the stronger figure on each row where a direction exists.

MeasureBaylor UniversityHoustonDifference
Acceptance rate18.94%22.99%−4.0
Median LSAT164163+1
Median GPA3.773.79−0
Annual tuition$1,606/credit$31,326—
3-year total costnot reported$195,924—
Median grant / year$33,518$11,500+22,018
Net tuition after grantnot reportednot reported—
First-year class size165249−84
Offer yieldnot reportednot reported—
Class fill100.0%98.8%+1.2
Bar pass (1st time)93.7%84.5%+9.2

Bold is not a recommendation. On cost and acceptance it marks the lower number; on grant aid and bar passage the higher one. Where no direction applies — median LSAT, GPA and class size — nothing is bolded, because a higher median LSAT is not obviously better than a lower one for a given applicant.

Where the two differ most

Ranked by the size of the gap relative to Houston's figure. These are the differences most likely to change a decision.

MeasureBaylor UniversityHoustonGap
Median grant / year$33,518$11,500+22,018in dollars
First-year class size165249−84
Acceptance rate18.94%22.99%−4.0percentage points
Bar pass (1st time)93.7%84.5%+9.2

Cost compared

A full three-year cost cannot be computed for both schools from the 509 disclosures available here. At least one reports tuition per credit hour rather than an annual figure, and no annual estimate is made.

Outcomes compared

MeasureBaylor UniversityHouston
First-time bar passage93.7%84.5%
Offer yield23.8%30.5%
Class fill100.0%98.8%
Students enrolled165246
First-year class size165249

The national median offer yield is 31.6%. Offer yield measures how many admitted students chose each school; class fill measures whether the class was filled. A low yield is common and usually reflects a wide offer policy rather than a school students avoid.

Choosing between them

Full details on each school

Baylor UniversityHouston
Admissions dataAll Baylor University admissions dataAll Houston admissions data
Admissions funnelFunnel & yieldFunnel & yield
Financial aidGrants & aid bandsGrants & aid bands
CostCost of attendanceCost of attendance

Other comparisons

Other Houston pairings, and other alternatives to Baylor University.

Common questions

What is the acceptance rate at Baylor University vs Houston?

Baylor University admitted 18.94% of applicants while Houston admitted 22.99%.

Which school offers more financial aid, Baylor University or Houston?

Baylor University reports a median grant of $33,518 per year for full-time students, compared with $11,500 at Houston. Median figures describe past cohorts and are not aid offers.

Source: ABA Standard 509 Required Disclosures, 2025 reporting cycle, for Baylor University Law School and University of Houston Law School. Three-year cost totals multiply one year of disclosed tuition, mandatory fees and living costs by three; the 509 does not disclose program length. Figures describe the most recent entering class and past aid cohorts. Not financial advice and not a recommendation of either school.